Qualifying is underway in Gordon County

Election 2020

Gordon County qualifying is underway for those who want to make the ballot. Candidates can qualify at the courthouse through Friday noon.

According to representatives for the Shea Hicks, Chairperson for the Board of Elections and Voter Registration, the following people have qualified for these positions. FYN will update this list each day until qualifying ends later this week.


Clerk of Superior Court

Grant Walraven (R-Incumbent)

Probate Judge

John R. “Ritchie” Parker (non-partisan-Incumbent)

Magistrate Judge

James Pat Rasbury (R-Incumbent)

Commissioner District 1

L. Bud Owens (R-Incumbent)

Commissioner District 2

Commissioner District 3

Norris Sexton (R-Incumbent)

Robert “Rob” Ballard (R)

Ronald Bruce Potts, Jr. (R)

Commissioner District 4

Commissioner District 5

Kevin L. Cunningham(R-Incumbent)


Mitch Ralston (R-Incumbent)

Tax Commissioner

Scott Clements (R-Incumbent)


James Carver (R-Incumbent)

Board of Education 1

Board of Education 2

Board of Education 3

Board of Education 4

Rod Brehm (R)

Bobby E. Hall (R-Incumbent)

Board of Education 5

Board of Education 6

Samuel Terrill Jewell (R)

STATE Qualifying

District 5 State Representative

Matt Barton (Incumbent – R)

District 11 State Representative

Rick Jasperse (Incumbent – R)

Charlotte Williamson (R)

Kayla Hollifield (D)

State Senate District 52

Chuck Hufsteler (Incumbent – R)

Charles DeYoung (D)

State Senate District 54

Chuck Payne (Incumbent – R)

Dan McEntire (R)

Public Service Commission District 4

Lauren “Bubba” McDonald, Jr. (Incumbent – R)

Nathan Wilson (L)

Daniel Blackman (D)

John Noel (D)

Judge of Superior Court Cherokee Circuit

Jeffrey Watkins (Incumbent – Non-partisan)

Judge of Superior Court Cherokee Circuit

Suzanne Smith (Incumbent – Non-partisan)

District Attorney Cherokee Circut 

Rosemary Greene (Incumbent – R)

FEDERAL Qualifying

Ninth District U.S. Congress

Michael Boggus (R)

Andrew Clyde (R)

Matt Gurtler (R)

Maria Strickland (R)

Kevin Tanner (R)

Ethan Underwood (R)

Devin Pandy (D)

Paul Broun (R)

John Wilkinson (R)

Dan Wilson (D)

Kellie Weeks (R)

Bonnie Siskin (D)

14th District House of Representatives

Click this link to see who has qualified for the seat.

United States Senate – Perdue Seat

James Knox (D)

Jon Ossoff (D)

Teresa Pike Tomlinson (D)

Tricia Carpenter McCracken (D)

Sarah Riggs Amico (D)

Shane Hazel (L)

Marc Keith DeJesus (D)

Maya Dillard Smith (D)

David Perdue (Incumbent – R)

United States Senate – Loeffler Seat (Special Election in November) 

Kelly Loeffler (Incumbent – R)

Doug Collins (R)

A. Wayne Johnson (R)

Kandiss Taylor (R)

Tamara Johnson-Shealey (D)

Matt Lieberman (D)

Joy Felicia Shade (D)

Ed Tarver (D)

Richard Dien Winfield (D)

Al Bartell (I)

Allen Buckley (I)

Brian Slowinski (L)

Derrick E. Grayson (R)

Rod Mack (Write-In)

Qualifying for the presidential preference primary election occurred in Dec. 2019 and will take place on March 24, but the general primary for the state is on May 19, 2020. For the general primary, early voting begins on April 27.

Leave a comment

Back to Top